Road to the Dark Knight

The Dark Knight, definitely my most anticipated movie in the last three years, will be out this week!! Planning to catch it tomorrow or anytime this week. And I will be wearing a Black Superman T-Shirt! Why would I want to do that? On my other post, I told you about what happened during the premiere of Batman Begins:

While we were waiting for the cinema to open, I notice that almost everyone was looking at me and giggling. Later I realised that I was wearing a black Superman T-Shirt. LOL So there I was in the premiere of a Batman movie wearing a Superman t-shirt.

So just for fun and for old time sake (and boredom too), I’m going to wear that same Black Superman T-Shirt.

Anyway, here’s a rundown of our ‘journey’.

June 2005 – Batman Begins

Here’s my review of Batman Begins over my first blog.

October 2006 – Heath Ledger as the Joker

When my brother set up his blog, one of the first movie news he posted was the casting of Heath Ledger as the Joker. Although I was happy that he will be Joker but at that time I was still in a “Ledger’s cool but damn, if only Paul Bettany was Joker!!” camp. Of course I’ve now forgotten about Paul Bettany hehe. It was also around this time that Ledger said McDowell’s character from Clockwork Orange will be the inspiration of his Joker.

It’s also funny reading what was written by my brother at that time:

But don’t expect the usual Joker look with the heavy make up, green hair and purple suit

Well, he does have a green hair and purple suit!! Haha!

May 2007 – Joker revealed

I remember there was this viral site where you need to submit your email. With each email submitted, a single pixel of the first Joker picture is revealed. I contributed, my brother contributed and so did everyone around the world. Eventually, the above picture was revealed. When I first saw it, Jigsaw from SAW series came to my mind lol

July 2007 – Teaser trailer

A teaser trailer was released featuring only the Bat Logo, a dialog between Bruce & Alfred and the first reveal of the Joker’s voice by Ledger. My first reaction to the trailer was “Holy Shit! He nailed the laugh!!”

August 2007 – Wizard World footage

Fans who attended the Wizard World in Chicago were treated with an exclusive footage from the movie. It wasn’t leaked at the time therefore we only relied on descriptions written by those who were there. Now, that footage has been released and you can watch it below on YouTube.

Nov 2007 – Joker makes his debut on the cover of Empire magazine

When I started this blog back in November, I didn’t waste time making a post about The Dark Knight.

Dec 2007 – New Dark Knight trailer featuring the Joker

New Dark Knight trailer attached to the Will Smith movie, ‘I Am Legend’ immediately became a hit primarily because it’s the first time we get an idea of Ledger’s version of the Joker. Everyone starts saying catch phrases like “Why So Serious?” “It’s all part of the plan” and “Let’s put a smile on that Face

Jan 2008 – The tragic death of Joker himself, Heath Ledger

Luckily, he completed his work on The Dark Knight. His death created a lot publicity for the movie and his role as the Joker. Some say he had trouble sleeping because he was so physically and psychologically committed to his role as the Joker so he took a lot of pills. But I doubt that his role as the Joker led to his death.

April 2008 – Joker in nurse outift

As summer movie season approached, the picture of Joker in a nurse wardrobe got leaked. It was funny and creepy at the same. Later, various posters for the movie were released mostly featuring Batman and Joker. Finally, a new trailer was released shedding more light on the potrayal of Harvey Dent by Aaron Eckhart.

July 2008 – Early Reviews

Early reviews poured in and almost all of them were positive. Some have compared it with such movies like Heat (Dark Knight is more of a Crime Drama than a superhero movie), Godfather II and Empire Strikes Back (the latter two are examples of sequels that are infinitely better than their first movies).

***

Here’s a music from the soundtrack called ‘Like A Dog Chasing Cars’ to pump you up. Enjoy!

One thought on “Road to the Dark Knight

  1. Pingback: Holy F*** Batman!! My ‘Dark Knight’ Review! « Trylobyte’s Corner

Leave a Reply

